Regions in Jamaica

We have added a resource in our "Kids Guide to Jamaica". Learn about the counties, parishes and different regions of Jamaica.

Regions in Jamaica-Body-2

Jamaica is divided in to three counties with 14 parishes. The 3 counties are: Surrey, Middlesex and Cornwall

Regions in Jamaica-Body

Below are the names of the parishes with their capitals in parentheses:

  1. Clarendon (May Pen)
  2. Hanover (Lucea)
  3. Kingston (Kingston)
  4. Manchester (Mandeville)
  5. Portland (Port Antonio)
  6. Saint Andrew (Half Way Tree)
  7. Saint Ann (Saint Ann's Bay)
  8. Saint Catherine (Spanish Town)
  9. Saint Elizabeth (Black River)
  10. Saint James (Montego Bay)
  11. Saint Mary (Port Maria)
  12. Saint Thomas (Morant Bay)
  13. Trelawny (Falmouth)
  14. Westmoreland (Savanna-la-Mar)

Origins of names some parish names:

The scenery and weather are similar across the island.

The North and West Coasts of Jamaica is where most of the tourist to Jamaica vacation. These coasts have a fairly flat coastline with long sandy beaches. This region is very popular for these beaches. There are also fishing villages all over the coasts of Jamaica

The middle of the island is mainly Mountainous. Farms are prevalent in the interior of Jamaica.